JobBOSS | Ideas

Create the ability to inactivate a work center

When a machine is sold, JobBoss doesn't have the ability to inactivate it like we can a customer or an employee.  This leads to long equipment lists to sort through.  If the inactivation of a work center would not allow us to put it into a quote or a job, that would also be helpful.

  • Laura Bothe
  • Jan 23 2018
  • Developed
  • Attach files
  • Alex Kodarin commented
    14 May, 2020 02:23pm

    Great idea. This will also help if you have decided to rename work centers so they are more useful in planning work.

  • Erik Buskist commented
    19 Sep, 2018 06:57pm

    I was just asking about this and my rep said I should post it on Ideas, looks like someone beat me to it! 

    My main concern is we recently implemented JobBOSS and have several dated machine centers that will be gone in the near future (some have gone since implementation). We have a few people scheduling work and copy & paste repeat projects. So it is easy to copy old machine centers that we do not have any more. Also new work, having 30 plus active work centers is long enough, having additional ones that no longer exist just makes it messy. Things should be fool proof, this is not.

    In Unipoint you have multiple options for a Machine Center Status. It cannot be that difficult to implement. 

  • Chad Tessmann commented
    8 Aug, 2018 09:58pm

    I literally just ran into this problem too.  I thought about renaming the work center to "DNU" or something to signify an inactive work center but that would honestly just look ugly and cluttered because it would still be active.  A merge worked in my case as the work center was just a weld station and merged with another weld station.  However, for a machine I can see the need to deactivate instead of merge so you can get history for parts that ran through that work center.

  • Laura Bothe commented
    2 Feb, 2018 02:50pm

    Thanks, Frank.  I had thought about doing that, but then I lose the history of where the part has actually run in the past.  Best thing would be to make it disappear from the active list altogether.

  • Guest commented
    23 Jan, 2018 10:24pm

    Not a solution but might help - we used the find and replace utility to merge work centers thereby reducing the drop down list. We wanted the job routings transferred to the new work center so this method worked for us.